• East Asian Stock Exchanges Conference (EASEC) was founded as an informal organization to promote friendship and to facilitate the exchange of information among member exchanges.


  •  East Asian Oceanian Stock Exchanges Federation (EAOSEF) was founded as an official international federation of stock exchanges.
  • The Charter was established.
  • The geographical boundary for membership was expanded to Oceania, and the Australian Stock Exchange and New Zealand Stock Exchange were admitted to AOSEF as members.


  • The EAOSEF altered the basis of its membership system from a country-based one to the more liberalized exchange-based system that it is today.


  • Working Committee (WC) was established as a standing committee.


  • EAOSEF changed its name to Asian and Oceanian Stock Exchanges Federation (AOSEF).
  • The geographical boundary for membership is defined as: in the Western Pacific and up to Mongolia (in the north) and up to India/Pakistan (in the west).The Bombay Stock Exchange and the National Stock Exchange of India were admitted to AOSEF as members.